The Moravian Church, built in 1760, is situated on Kevin Street. On the front of the building is a carving of the Lamb of God holding a flag, which is the symbol of the Moravians. The church was closed for religious services in 1959.
This video is designed as a resource for primary and post-primary students up to Junior Certificate.
The Moravian Church, Kevin Street.
Situated directly on Kevin Street is a large building with tall stained glass windows. This building has the unusual name of ‘The Moravian Church’.
The church took its name from a Protestant sect called ‘The Moravian Church’ Sometimes they are also called ‘The Unity of the Brethren’. The Moravians had settled in Eastern Germany in the eighteenth-century but came originally from Moravia (hence their name) and Bohemia in the present-day Czech Republic.
The Moravians believed in spreading the message of the Bible to different countries, so in 1746, one of the most famous Moravian preachers named John Cennick came to Dublin to talk about his faith. He was very charming and many Dubliners came to hear him speak. At first he preached to people outside, then he moved to a hall in Skinner’s Alley and eventually Dubliners built the Moravian Church in Kevin Street in 1760 as the crowds were growing.
On the front of the building is a carving of the Lamb of God holding a flag, which is the symbol of the Moravians. The church was closed for religious services in 1959.