024 St Nicholas Within, Nicholas Street [Church of Ireland]
St Nicholas Within was built in the 11th century and takes its name from the fact that it was 'within the walls' of the City of Dublin unlike its sister parish St Nicholas Without near St Patrick's. It is named after St Nicholas of Myra, the patron saint of sailors. The church fell into neglect during the seventeenth century but was restored in 1707. By the nineteenth century it had fallen into disrepair yet again and was eventually united with the parish of St Audoen's in 1867. The remains of St Nicholas Within can be seen at the corner of Nicholas Street and Christ Church Place beside the Peace Park that was opened by Dublin Corporation in 1988.
This photo is from the Dublin City Council Photographic Collection. This unique collection is an educational resource and provides a basis for original research on the history of Dublin from the second half of the twentieth century.