060 Merrion Hall, Merrion Street Lower [Open Brethren]
The Merrion Hall was opened in 1863 as an evangelical centre for the Open Brethren community. The Brethren continued to use the building for meetings until 1988, after which the building stood empty until it was destroyed by fire in 1991. The building, which has retained the facade of the original building, reopened as the Davenport Hotel and still functions as such. It is one of the few religious buildings to be mentioned in James Joyce's Ulysses.
This photo is from the Dublin City Council Photographic Collection. This unique collection is an educational resource and provides a basis for original research on the history of Dublin from the second half of the twentieth century.